Who Am I? Who Are You?

Hello! Welcome to my Fairy Garden Blog!

To get started, let me introduce myself. My name is Morgan Dinkelacker (hence the blog name Dinkerbell). I am a full-time student with my fairy garden as a hobby to relieve stress. My major is sign-language interpreting, so I’m definitely more on the creative side. None of that math stuff for me, no sir! This is a place where I will post updates on my fairy garden, tips and tricks that I have learned (through both failing and succeeding), and whatever else strikes my fancy.

As a child, I had a wild imagination. My parents were amazed at the things I would play with for hours on end. In the car, I would search my mom’s purse for “toys”. Those “toys” most often ended up being her nail clippers and a small dull pair of folding scissors.

MORGANSCOMPUTER - Scan_Pic0014
Baby Dinkerbell

 

I don’t ever remember a time when I didn’t love the fantastical idea of tiny creatures flitting around in gardens, unseen to the human eye. But I do remember a time when I visited my Aunt and Uncle’s summer home. They had neighbors with a fairy garden, but it was off limits to children! That put the idea in my head to start a fairy garden, and the idea in my heart that it would be child-friendly (of course, at 21, there are no children running around to be friendly to anyway…)

fairy house
The First Piece

I had always talked about creating a fairy garden, but never acted on it. It was literally on my bucket list. My friends got tired of me talking, but never acting, so sophomore year of college, they pitched in and bought the first piece to the fairy garden. A ceramic mushroom house! From there, everything exploded. I went to garden stores, Michael’s, Home Depot, online, and my fairy garden was given life!

 

Last year was the first season for my garden. It is a little barren, but it isn’t overcrowded either! I call it a garden because it is on top of dirt and mulch, but there is an obvious lack of flowers and a little greenery. Most of it is the overbearing ivy that I battle with every week for space in my enclosure. So without further ado, I give you my first every fairy garden!

2016 Fairy Garden
2016 Fairy Garden

So now that you know me, who are you? It doesn’t have to be specific. Maybe a mother and daughter struggling to get started? Maybe a grandson and his grandmother looking for inspiration? A close friend that I forced into reading my blog? Whatever the case, leave a comment! I’d love to hear from you!

9 thoughts on “Who Am I? Who Are You?

Leave a Reply

